Senior Advice!

Rafaela Pereira

Our current seniors only have around 4 months left in high school. Soon enough, we will graduate from high school and be off to college! Whether you’ve been at Lausanne since pre-k, middle school or beginning of high school, we’ve all experienced significant moments together as a class. In a way, we’ve become a family. This is a time that a lot of us are reflecting on our time at Lausanne. 

In an interview with some of the seniors, I asked them: “What advice would you give your freshman self? It can be academically or socially.”

“Enjoy high school while it lasts because it does fly by. At the same time, stay on top of your grades because you don’t want to look back and think ‘I wish I would’ve cared/studied a little harder’”

Dylan Andrews (’20)

“Whatever you think is ‘cool’ now probably isn’t the best for yourself. Choose good influences as your friends and keep positive people around you. Also, spend more time with your family because the days are counting down! Also, don’t stay up too late for homework every night because everything will work itself out in the end!”

Shivani Koka (’20)

“Don’t be afraid to wear whatever clothes you want or sing for others. Also, to respect myself better and be better to myself physically and mentally”

– Will Neff (’20)

“Academically, I would tell my freshman self to make more use of my teachers. Don’t be scared of them! Also, make use of your study halls and focus on time management. Socially, I wish I would’ve introduced myself to more people and really enjoyed the fun moments more”

– Anaum Showkat (’20)

“Don’t procrastinate and get your work done! Socially, I would tell myself to branch out and try to meet new people. Make sure to enjoy high school, it flies by!”

– Sophie Jones (’20)

High school is sometimes known as “the best or worst years of your life”. In reality, it is what you make of it. If you are a freshman, sophomore, or even junior reading this, you should make the most of high school because it truly does fly by, though it might not feel like it all the time. Don’t be afraid to experience new things because now is your time to do so. Take the advice from these wise seniors!

Leave a comment